City Seal
InterLinc: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA and Lancaster County
Your Government at a Glance
Other Public Services

Election Commission

The Election Commissioner is appointed by the Governor. The office maintains records on Lancaster County registered voters and conducts federal, state, county, city, and other local elections. It issues ballots to absentee and disabled voters, counts votes and maintains election records.

A qualified voter must be a United States citizen and be 18 or older on the day of the General Election (first Tuesday, after first Monday in November). Residents may register by mail. Voters changing address, name or party affiliation must re-register.

Educational Services

The Lincoln Public School District, 001, Lancaster County, is a Class IV district serving more than 30,500 students in kindergarten through 12th grade. The district's boundaries are the same as Lincoln's city limits in most areas. Most the Lincoln Public Schools' budget comes from property taxes; however, the district does receive state and federal aid and funds from several other local sources.

The Lincoln Board of Education is the governing body of the district. Seven Board members are elected to four-year terms by district and serve without pay. Two or more public meetings are held each month and an agenda is released to the media prior to each meeting. The meetings are shown on the Cable Educational Access Channel. The Bboard appoints a Chief Executive Officer who is the Superintendent of Schools.

Educational Service Units (ESU) were created by the 1965 Nebraska State Legislature to provide supplementary education services to local school districts. ESU No. 18 provides services including research, data collection, in-service workshops, curriculum enrichment, evaluation, needs assessment and the Heritage School located at State Fair Park, for the Lincoln School District. ESU No. 18 serves as the liaison between the state and local school districts. Lancaster County contracts with ESU No. 18 to provide Superintendent of School services for county schools. ESU No. 6 of Milford serves the balance of Lancaster County.

Lancaster County has six Class I school districts that offer classes to students in kindergarten to eighth grade. Four Class III school districts -- Raymond, Firth, Waverly and Malcolm -- teach students from kindergarten to grade 12. Each of these districts has its own school superintendent. These school districts are governed by school boards. Class I boards have three to six members, and Class III districts have six members. Members are elected and serve without pay.

Lancaster County Rural Water District #1

The District supplies water to landowners within its boundaries who choose to subscribe to its services. Lancaster County has one rural water district, and no new water districts may be formed. Water districts have the power to condemn but no power to tax. Revenues come from service.

Lincoln Municipal Airport

The operation, maintenance and development of the airport and its property is the responsibility of a five-member Lincoln Airport Authority. Its members are elected by citizens to six-year terms. The Authority has jurisdiction over the industrial development area on the airport. Funds for maintenance and development of the airport come from operating revenues.

Railroad Transportation Safety District (RTSD)

The RTSD was established by state statute. Its purpose is to relocate and consolidate railroads within Lincoln and Lancaster County, to improve safety at railroad-highway grade crossings, and to reduce conflicts between the railroad and community regarding land use and traffic movement. The six directors are appointed from the City Council and County Board.

Lower Platte South Natural Resources District (NRD)

This District encompasses about 1,647 square miles, or one million acres. About 45% of the District is in Lancaster County. Major programs include: erosion prevention and control; flood prevention and control; soil conservation; ground water conservation and pollution control; and the development and management of fish and wildlife habitats. The NRD cooperates with federal, state and local agencies to carry out these projects. A board of 21 directors, elected to four-year terms, oversees activities. The NRD is financed by taxes on all taxable property within the district.

Sanitary & Improvement Districts (SID)

SID's are public corporations formed to construct and maintain residential infrastructures. A SID is formed by a vote of the legal voters who reside in the proposed SID. A SID is managed by a five-member board of trustees elected to four-year terms in general state elections. Financing for SID's may come from general obligation bond issues, revenue bonds, or special assessments against property owners in the district.

InterLinc Back to Table of Contents

Prev: County Offices   Next: Judicial System