Civil Rights Conference Awards

Nomination Forms

Gerald Henderson Human Rights Award

photograph of Wendy Francis and Bennie Shobe

2015 Winner — Wendy Francis

Wendy Francis served on the Lincoln Commission on Human Rights for 6 years. As a Commissioner, she volunteered her time to eliminate discrimination and ensure that all residents are treated fairly in her city. While serving in this capacity, she worked tirelessly as a realtor connecting families with financial need programs when warranted and striving to secure affordable housing for her clients. Through her work with the Realtors Association of Lincoln Board of Directors, Public Policy Committee, Affordable Housing Committee, and Equal Opportunity Committee as well as her work with the Nebraska Realtors Association Equal Opportunity Cultural Diversity Committee and the Diversity Advisory Council, Wendy has demonstrated an unyielding commitment to equity, diversity and fair housing.

Service Recognition Award

2015 Winner — Angela Lemke

Ms. Angela Lemke recently retired from her position with the City of Lincoln Commission on Human Rights. When she retired, she was a Senior Civil Rights Investigator and had held that position for 6 years. Ms. Lemke graduated from Lincoln School of Commerce in 1997 with an Associates Degree in Paralegal studies, and has continued her education in the Civil Rights field by attending various conferences and workshops involving equal opportunity. Ms. Lemke was employed with LCHR for 17 years fulfilling her primary responsibilities of investigating and conciliating complaints of discrimination in the areas of housing, employment and public accommodation. Ms. Lemke was a great source of historical information about the Commission as well as a referral resource for many of the residents that presented at our office and were in need of other services that were not available through LCHR. Ms. Lemke also provided training and outreach to the public on the various civil rights and equal opportunity laws. Ms. Lemke demonstrated a strong commitment to equity and fair treatment for everyone. While her presence in this field will be sorely missed, her dedication to this cause bears recognition.

Fair Housing Award

A highlight of the Fair Housing Conference is the annual Fair Housing Award which is awarded to a person, organization or formalized group who has made significant contributions to providing equal opportunity in the field of housing. Someone whose achievements have given new meaning to 'fair housing'. This may be:

  • A demonstrated commitment to fair housing activities.
  • The use of new and creative means to fight housing discrimination, prejudice and the effects of past housing discrimination.
  • The fostering of intergroup relations by promoting mutual respect, understanding, cultural awareness and appreciation in business, education, government, religion and other areas of civic endeavor.
  • A selection committee composed of housing providers and conference partners will determine the awardee based upon a numerical rating process.

Past Winners

  • 2014 Seanna Collins
  • 2013 Colleen Floth
  • 2012 CenterPointe Housing
  • 2011 Larry Williams
  • 2010 Jill Fenner, Fair Housing Center of Nebraska
  • 2009 Apartment Guide, Michelle Zadine
  • 2008 The Arter Group, Jim & Mark Arter
  • 2007 High Plains Community Development Group
  • 2006
  • 2005 Kristine Strand, Cedars Youth Service
  • 2004 Nebraska REALTOR© Association, Liz Bruce & Doug Rotthaus
  • 2003 Gerald Henderson
  • 2002 Fair Housing Center of Omaha, Mary Eley