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Steps to qualify for
spousal impoverishment

1. List All Resources: You may use the Spousal
Division of Resources Worksheet, available at the
Aging Partners office. This worksheet is not a Nebraska
Department of Health & Human Services (DHHS) form
and is optional to help you organize your financial and asset
information. List all of your assets and balance for the month
your spouse went into the nursing home, hospital or special
living arrangement. Include account numbers and owners.
You will need to provide written verification as proof. You
must show the current cash and face value of life insurance
polices, which you can obtain from the issuing company.

2. Consult an Attorney: You may want to discuss
questions with your attorney about how the Spousal
Impoverishment Division relates to your specific financial
situations and assets. If you do not have an attorney, and you
live in Lancaster County, you can meet with Aging Partners
Elderlaw Attorney, Mary Wilson. There is no charge for this
one-time consultation. Your attorney may consult with Mrs.
Wilson if s/he has any questions about the program. Call
402-441-7070 or 1-800-247-0938 to make an appointment.

3. Meet with DHHS: When your asset list is prepared
and legal questions answered, call DHHS and ask to schedule
an appointment for an “Assessment of Resources” DHHS
will mail you out forms to be completed and returned. Wait
for a call or letter to make the phone interview.

If your total assets are less than $28,180, ask for a
Medicaid application. The phone number for County offices
are listed on the back.

4. Spend Down Assets: The DHHS worker will
determine the amount you will be allowed to keep and how
much you need to spend. The spend-down can be used to
meet the needs of either spouse. You need to keep a record of
your expenditures. You cannot give the money away. Doing
so is considered a deprivation of resources and can cause
disqualification for Medicaid.
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5. Apply for Medicaid: Once your spend-down is
complete, fill out a Medicaid application on paper or on-line
at accessnebraska.ne.gov and send it to your local DHHS
office. They will request current proof of assets, income
and expenses. You will be notified when the Medicaid case
is approved, and how much to pay for your spouse’s care.
Once the case is open, you will have 90 days to change the
ownership of any jointly owned accounts or property.

6. Further Questions: If you need additional
information regarding the Spousal Impoverishment
worksheet or assistance with the Medicaid application, you
may contact the Aging Partner office at
402-441-7070 or 1-800-247-0938. However, your Medicaid
eligibility worker is your best resource to have your questions
answered. The care managers at Aging Partners cannot
advise you on the Spousal Impoverishment Law and do not
determine your eligibility.

Where Do | Apply?

All counties in the Aging Partners service area (Butler,
Fillmore, Lancaster, Polk, Saline, Saunders, Seward and
York) will need to apply.

Medicaid Program—ACCESS Nebraska
P.O. Box 98933, Lincoln, NE 68508-5801
Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Phone: 1-855-632-7633 (Statewide)
Phone: 402-473-7000 (Lincoln only)
Fax: 402-471-9209

Helpline: 800-254-4202

Apply on-line: www.accessnebraska.ne.gov

This fact sheet is distributed to help you obtain useful information
regarding available community services and is not an inclusive list of
providers. The information is subject to change following publication.
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