interlinc home page lincoln.ne.gov  
city of lincoln  
City of Lincoln
Mayor's Office

2005 Media Releases


Date:
December 13, 2005
For More Information Contact:
Bill Luxford, 5 CITY-TV/21 Educational Access, 441-6688


Basketball Tips Off on 21 Educational Access
Lincoln Public Schools’ teams to be included for first time

21 Educational Access (Time Warner Cable channel 21 in Lincoln) has announced its tape-delay telecast schedule for the 2005-2006 basketball season. A minimum of 33 games are scheduled to be aired featuring Nebraska Wesleyan University, some Lincoln private high schools and, for the first time, Lincoln Public Schools (LPS). More games will be added to the schedule (attached) at a later date.

“We’re again thrilled to be able to utilize 21 Educational Access to bring another exciting basketball season to Lincoln residents,” said Bill Luxford, Operations Manager for 5 CITY-TV/21 Educational Access.

High School and collegiate sports began airing on 21 Educational Access during the fall of 2004. During fall of 2005, a total of 24 football, volleyball and softball games were telecast. Luxford said the programming will be enhanced by adding LPS games to the winter sports season.

“We’re very pleased that Lincoln Public Schools will join the winter lineup,” Luxford said. “We feel that this has been a missing piece of our sports schedule. LPS sports has tremendous viewer appeal, and we look forward to helping them promote, not only their excellent sports programs, but other events that are happening at the schools.”

Luxford said a new feature this season will be halftime segments highlighting the host school’s students and faculty. He also said that play-by-play duties will again be handled by the voice of 21 Educational Access Sports, Kyle Doperalski.

“Kyle does a fantastic job behind the mic,” Luxford said. “What really impresses me is that he intensely prepares for a game knowing that it’s all about the kids. Whether it’s a D-2 game or a Class A state semi-final, he does his homework and has a goal of making it enjoyable and exciting for both players, fans and viewers.”

Sponsors for the telecasts will include Park It Downtown, StarTran, Lincoln Electric System, Time Warner Cable and Nebraska Wesleyan University. Schedules and telecast times can be found by visiting the City Web site at lincoln.ne.gov, then clicking on the 5 CITY-TV icon.

21 Educational Access 2005-2006 Basketball Schedule

Boys High School:

  • Friday, December 2 - Lincoln Pius X at Waverly
  • Friday, December 9 - Lincoln High at Lincoln Southwest
  • Thursday, December 15 - Raymond Central at Lincoln Christian
  • Friday, December 16 - Lincoln High at Lincoln East
  • Wednesday, December 21 - Lincoln North Star at Lincoln Northeast
  • Thursday, December 29 and Friday, December 30 - Lincoln Lutheran Tournament
  • Friday, January 6 - Heartland at Lincoln Christian
  • Saturday, January 14 - Lincoln Southwest at Lincoln North Star
  • Friday, January 20 - Lincoln Christian at Lincoln Pius X
  • Friday, January 27 - Lincoln East at Lincoln Southeast
  • Saturday, February 4 - David City Aquinas at Lincoln Christian
  • Friday, February 10 - Fairbury at Lincoln Lutheran
  • Friday, February 17 - Lincoln Southeast at Lincoln Northeast
  • District and State Tournaments to be announced

Girls High School:

  • Wednesday, December 14 - Lincoln East at Lincoln High
  • Tuesday, December 20 - Lincoln North Star at Lincoln Southwest
  • Thursday, December 29 and Friday, December 30 - Lincoln Lutheran Tournament
  • Friday, January 6 - Heartland at Lincoln Christian
  • Friday, January 13 - Lincoln North Star at Lincoln Southeast
  • Thursday, January 26 - Lincoln Northeast at Lincoln Pius X
  • Wednesday, February 1 - Lincoln Northeast at Lincoln East
  • Friday, February 3 - Concordia at Parkview Christian
  • College View (game to be announced)

Boys and Girls District and State Basketball Tournaments will be shown, with all participating Lincoln teams featured during the first two rounds of play, contingent on consent from the Nebraska School Activities Association.

Men’s:

  • Thursday, January 5 - Nebraska Wesleyan at Doane College (tentative)
  • Tuesday, January 10 - Midland College at Nebraska Wesleyan
  • Wednesday, January 18 - Nebraska Wesleyan at Concordia (tentative)
  • Tuesday, January 24 - Hastings College at Nebraska Wesleyan
  • Wednesday, February 1 - Doane College at Nebraska Wesleyan
  • Saturday, February 4 - Dakota Wesleyan at Nebraska Wesleyan (tentative)

Women’s:

  • Wednesday, December 7 - Dana College at Nebraska Wesleyan
  • Wednesday, January 11 - Midland Lutheran at Nebraska Wesleyan
  • Other games to be announced


Mayor's Office    Media Releases