InterLinc Home Page
City of Lincoln
City of Lincoln
Mayor's Office

2016 Media Releases

April 8, 2016
For More Information Contact:
Diane Gonzolas, Citizen Information Center, 402-441-7831

Mayor to Present Award of Excellence for 2015

Monday, April 11, Mayor Chris Beutler will present the Annual Mayor's Award of Excellence for 2015 to a team from the Solid Waste Management Division of the Public Works and Utilities Department. The award will be presented at 3 p.m. at the beginning of the City Council meeting in the City Council Chambers, County-City Building, 555 S. 10th Street. A reception for the honorees will follow on the second floor of the County-City Building.

Superintendent of Solid Waste Operations Karla Welding nominated the team for their work to repair and rebuild the walking floor and pedestal boom at the Transfer Station. The team members are Kevin Patak, Solid Waste Operations Supervisor, and Landfill Operators Jason Killingsworth and Mark Reynolds.

All monthly award nominees and winners are eligible to receive the annual award. The team members will share a $250 gift certificate, and each will receive two days off with pay and a plaque. The Mayor will also present them with the Mayor's Medallion.

The 2015 Honorable Mention Award will be presented to Joel Wittrock of the City Treasurer's Office in the Finance Department.

The categories in which employees can be nominated are customer service, productivity, safety, valor and loss prevention. Consideration also may be given to nominations that demonstrate self-initiated accomplishments or those completed outside of the nominee's job description. All City employees are eligible for the award except for elected and appointed officials. Individuals or teams can be nominated by supervisors, peers, subordinates and the general public.

Nomination forms are available at (keyword: hr) or from department heads, employee bulletin boards or the Human Resources Department, which oversees the awards program. All nominations are considered by the Mayor's Award of Excellence Committee, which includes a representative with each union and a non-union representative appointed by the Mayor. Monthly award winners receive a $50 gift certificate, a day off with pay and a plaque.

Mayor's Office
Media Releases