City of Lincoln
Planning

Planning Commission Agenda

 




*** ACTION BY PLANNING COMMISSION ***
NOTICE: The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, August 25, 2010, at 1:00 p.m. in the City-Council Chambers, County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, 441-7491.

The LPlan Advisory Committee will meet on Wednesday, August 25, 2010, from 11:00 a.m. to 12:45 p.m., in Room 113 of the County-City Building, 555 S. 10th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska.

The Lincoln/Lancaster County Planning Commission will meet on Wednesday, August 25, 2010, immediately following the regular meeting in Room 113 of the County-City Building, 555 S. 10th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska, for a workshop on "Review of Special Permits".

**PLEASE NOTE: The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. **

The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 25, 2010
[All members present] Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held August 11, 2010. ** APPROVED, 8-0 (Gaylor Baird abstained) ** 1. CONSENT AGENDA: (Public Hearing and Administrative Action) PERMITS: 1.1 Special Permit No. 10029, to allow an indoor animal hospital, on property generally located on the northwest corner of S. 48th Street and Normal Boulevard. *** FINAL ACTION *** Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval Staff Planner: Christy Eichorn, 441-7603, ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov Planning Commission 'final action': CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated August 12, 2010, 9-0. Resolution No. PC-01211. 2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL: 3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA (Public hearing and Administrative Action): 3.1 _______________ 3.2 _______________ 4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION: PERMITS: 4.1 County Special Permit No. 10028, pursuant to Article 13.001.27 of the Lancaster County Zoning Resolution, for authority to construct an office building for expanded home occupation, with a request to waive the side yard setback requirement from 200' to 100' on the east side, on property generally located at S.W. 114th Street and W. Roca Road (Highway 33). Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval Staff Planner: Mike DeKalb, 441-6370, mdekalb@lincoln.ne.gov Had public hearing. Planning Commission recommendation: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated August 17, 2010, with one amendment to Condition #2.4, as recommended by staff, 9-0. Public Hearing before the Lancaster County Board of Commissioners being requested. MISCELLANEOUS: 4.2 Waiver No. 10017, to waive the requirement of the Land Subdivision Ordinance to construct a sidewalk within a pedestrian easement connecting Saline Drive and Cornflower Drive, on property generally located in the area of Fletcher Avenue and Meridian Drive. *** FINAL ACTION *** Staff recommendation: Denial Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 441-5662, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov Had public hearing. Motion to approve the waiver of the sidewalk failed 7-2 (Taylor and Partington voting 'yes'; Esseks, Francis, Lust, Larson, Cornelius, Gaylor Baird and Sunderman voting 'no'. Motion for two-week deferral granted 8-1 (Esseks, Taylor, Francis, Lust, Partington, Cornelius, Gaylor Baird and Sunderman voting 'yes'; Larson voting 'no'. CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ACTION scheduled for Wednesday, September 8, 2010, 1:00 p.m.
* * * * * * * * * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * * * * * * * * *
PENDING LIST: 1. Comprehensive Plan Conformance No. 10005, to review the proposed addition of Project #0605 City Owned Facility in Northwest Lincoln to the City of Lincoln 2010/2011 - 2015/2016 Capital Improvement Program as to conformance with the 2030 Lincoln-Lancaster County Comprehensive Plan. The area of application is generally bounded by I-80 on the south and east, West Upland Ave. on the north, and West Bond Street on the west. (Planning Commission voted 5-0 to continue public hearing on September 8, 2010.) Planning Dept. staff contacts:
Steve Henrichsen, Development Review Manager 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
Nicole Fleck-Tooze, Long Range Planning Manager 441-6363 ntooze@lincoln.ne.gov
Mike Brienzo, Transportation Planner 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, Planner 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
David Cary, Planner 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Mike DeKalb, Planner 441-6370 mdekalb@lincoln.ne.gov
Christy Eichorn, Planner 441-7603 ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov
Brandon Garrett, Planner 441-6373 bgarrett@lincoln.ne.gov
Sara Hartzell, Planner 441-6371 shartzell@lincoln.ne.gov
Rashi Jain, Planner 441-6372 rjain@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov
* * * * * The Planning Commission meeting which is broadcast live at 1:00 p.m. every other Wednesday will be rebroadcast on Sundays at 1:00 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

Planning Commission Agenda List