Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, September 4, 2013, at 1:00 p.m. in the City-Council Chambers, County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Sundays at 1:00 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will meett on Wednesday, September 4, 2013, immediately following the regular meeting, in Room 113 of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, for a briefing by Planning staff on "Update on reFORM Proposals".

**Please Note:** The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 4, 2013

All members present

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held August 21, 2013. ** APPROVED, 7-0 (Sunderman abstained) **

1. CONSENT AGENDA

(Public Hearing and Administrative Action)

ANNEXATION WITH RELATED ITEMS
1.1a
Annexation
No. 13003
Annexation No. 13003, to annex approximately 0.11 acres, more or less, on property generally located at S. 91st and Van Dorn Streets.
Staff recommendation: Approval
Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL, 8-0. Public Hearing before City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, September 23, 2013, 3:00 p.m.
1.1b
Change of Zone
No. 13016
Change of Zone No. 13016, from AGR Agricultural Residential District to R-3 Residential District and from R-3 Residential District to AGR Agricultural Residential District, on property generally located at S. 91st and Van Dorn Streets.
Staff recommendation: Approval
Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL, 8-0. Public Hearing before City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, September 23, 2013, 3:00 p.m.
PERMITS
1.2
Special Permit
No. 04013A
Special Permit No. 04013A, to amend the existing special permit for a Residential Health Care Facility to increase the number of residents from 158 to 220, and to remove the cap on the number of employees and care units, on property generally located at S. 33rd Street and Yankee Hill Road. *** FINAL ACTION ***
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Christy Eichorn, 402-441-7605, ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov
Removed from Consent Agenda and scheduled for separate public hearing. Planning Commission 'Final Action': CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated August 22, 2013, 8-0. Resolution No. PC-01359.
1.3
Special Permit
No. 13042
Special Permit No. 13042, for the expansion of a nonconforming use to allow the construction of a new garage up to 5 feet from the south property line, on property generally located at S. 28th Street & Royal Court (2928 S. 28th Street). *** FINAL ACTION ***
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Christy Eichorn, 402-441-7605, ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission 'Final Action': CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated August 22, 2013, 8-0. Resolution No. PC-01360.
MISCELLANEOUS
1.4
Waiver
No. 13008
Waiver No. 13008, to waive the requirement for a pedestrian easement and sidewalk from N.W. 8th Street to Homeland Place, on property generally located at NW 7th Street and W Belmont Avenue. *** FINAL ACTION ***
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 402-441-5662, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Removed from Consent Agenda and had separate public hearing. Planning Commission 'Final Action': APPROVAL, 8-0. Resolution No. PC-01361.
2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL
None
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA
See Items 1.2 and 1.4 above.
4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION
PERMITS
4.1
Special Permit
No. 13041
Special Permit No. 13041, for soil excavation, on property generally located south of Vine Street, 1/2 mile west of N.W. 27th Street. *** FINAL ACTION ***
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 402-441-5662, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Had public hearing. Planning Commission 'Final Action': CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated August 22, 2013, as amended by staff, 8-0. Resolution No. PC-01362.
* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment
PENDING LIST:
1.
Change of Zone
No. 13015
Change of Zone No. 13015, from AGR Agricultural District to R-1 Residential District, on property generally located at Frontier Road and Highway 2 (6061 and 6101 Frontier Road).
(8-21-13: Planning Commission voted 7-0 to continue public hearing on October 16, 2013 at the applicant's request)

Planning Department Staff Contacts

Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
David Cary, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Planner (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Christy Eichorn, Planner (402) 441-7603 ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov
Brandon Garrett, Planner (402) 441-6373 bgarrett@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Sara Hartzell, Planner (402) 441-6371 shartzell@lincoln.ne.gov
David Pesnichak, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 dpesnichak@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov