Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, October 16, 2013, at 1:00 p.m. in the City-Council Chambers, County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Sundays at 1:00 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

**Please Note:** The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 16, 2013

All members present

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held October 2, 2013. ** APPROVED, 8-0 **

1. CONSENT AGENDA

(Public Hearing and Administrative Action)

CHANGE OF ZONE WITH RELATED ITEMS
1.1a
Change of Zone
No. 13023
Change of Zone No.13023, from R-1 Residential District to R-4 Residential District, on property generally located at S. 55th Street and Shady Creek Court.
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Christy Eichorn, 402-441-7605, ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov
Removed from Consent Agenda and had separate public hearing. Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL, 8-0. Public Hearing before City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, November 4, 2013, 3:00 p.m.
1.1b
Special Permit
No. 585C
Special Permit No. 585C, an amendment to the Quail Valley Community Unit Plan, to add two buildings comprising of approximately 48 additional multi-family units, generally located at S. 55th Street and Shady Creek Court. *** FINAL ACTION ***
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Christy Eichorn, 402-441-7605, ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov
Removed from Consent Agenda and had separate public hearing. Planning Commission 'final action': CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated October 3, 2013, 8-0. Resolution No. PC-01364.
PERMITS
1.2
Use Permit
No. 102A
Use Permit No. 102A, an amendment to reduce the front yard setback to 8 feet on a portion of N. 61st Street and a portion of Morrill Avenue for a parking lot, and to reduce the front yard setback to 1 foot on a portion of N. 62nd Street for a building expansion, on property generally located at N. 61st Street and Morrill Avenue (6126 Morrill Avenue).
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 402-441-5662, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated October 1, 2013, 8-0. Public Hearing before City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, November 4, 2013, 3:00 p.m.
2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL
2.1
Change of Zone
No. 13015
Change of Zone No. 13015, from AGR Agricultural District to R-1 Residential District, on property generally located at Frontier Road and Highway 2 (6061 and 6101 Frontier Road).
Staff recommendation: Applicant has requested to place on pending until April 16, 2014.
Staff Planner: Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Applicant's request for 6-month deferral granted, with CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ACTION scheduled for Wednesday, April 16, 2014, 1:00 p.m.
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA
4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION
COMPREHENSIVE PLAN
4.1
Comprehensive Plan Conformance
No. 13008
Comprehensive Plan Conformance No. 13008, to review the proposed "Lancaster County Road and Bridge Construction Program, Fiscal Year 2014 and 2015-2019", as to conformance with the 2040 Lincoln-Lancaster County Comprehensive Plan.
Staff recommendation: A Finding of Conformance with the Comprehensive Plan
Staff Planner: Michael Brienzo, 402-441-6369, mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Had public hearing. Planning Commission recommendation: A FINDING OF CONFORMANCE WITH THE COMPREHENSIVE PLAN, 8-0. Public Hearing before the Lancaster County Board of Commissioners tentatively scheduled for Tuesday, November 19, 2013, at 7:00 p.m.
* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment
PENDING LIST:
1.
Street and Alley Vacation
No. 06007
Street & Alley Vacation No. 06007, to vacate Pine Rodge Lane west of the west line of Westshore Drive, at approximately Highway 2 and Ashbrook Drive.
(10-2-16: Planning Commission voted 7-0 to continue public hearing on November 27, 2013, at the applicant's request)

Planning Department Staff Contacts

Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
David Cary, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Planner (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Christy Eichorn, Planner (402) 441-7603 ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov
Brandon Garrett, Planner (402) 441-6373 bgarrett@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Sara Hartzell, Planner (402) 441-6371 shartzell@lincoln.ne.gov
David Pesnichak, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 dpesnichak@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov