Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, February 5, 2014, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Sundays at 1:00 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will meet on Wednesday, February 5, 2014, immediately following their regular meeting, in Room 113 of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, for a brief discussion on the "reFORM Proposals", followed by Planning staff briefings on "Zoning Regulations on Alcohol Sales" and "Lincoln Theater Policy".

**Please Note:** The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 5, 2014

[All members present]

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held January 22, 2014. ** APPROVED, 8-0 (Hove abstained) **

1. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL
(See item 3.2 below)
2. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION
COMPREHENSIVE PLAN
2.1
Comprehensive Plan
No. 14001
Comprehensive Plan Conformance No. 14001, to review the proposed declaration of surplus property as to conformance with the 2040 Lincoln-Lancaster County Comprehensive Plan, generally located at Sun Valley Boulevard and Line Drive.
Staff recommendation: Conformance with the Comprehensive Plan
Staff Planner: Brandon Garrett, 402-441-6373, bgarrett@lincoln.ne.gov
Had public hearing. Planning Commission recommendation: A FINDING OF CONFORMANCE WITH THE COMPREHENSIVE PLAN, 9-0. Public Hearing before City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, March 3, 2014, 3:00 p.m.
3. CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION
PERMITS
3.1
Use Permit
No. 149A
Use Permit No. 149A, an amendment to reconfigure the building and parking layout south of Jamie Lane, west of South 27th Street, including a request to reduce the side and rear yard setbacks to allow a 400 sq. ft. increase of commercial floor area, on property generally located at South 27th Street and Jamie Lane.
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Christy Eichorn, 402-441-7603, ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov
Had public hearing. Planning Commission recommendation: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as revised by staff memo dated February 5, 2014, 9-0. Public Hearing before City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, March 3, 2014, 3:00 p.m.
3.2
Special Permit
No. 985A
Special Permit No. 985A, an amendment to the Kess Kove Community Unit Plan, to add one lot for one additional residential dwelling unit, with a waiver to grading and paving in South 60th Street, on property generally located at South 60th Street and Kess Drive. *** FINAL ACTION ***
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Applicant's request for two-week deferral granted, with CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ACTION scheduled for Wednesday, February 19, 2014, 1:00 p.m.
* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment
PENDING LIST:
1.
Change of Zone
No. 13015
Change of Zone No. 13015, from AGR Agricultural District to R-1 Residential District, on property generally located at Frontier Road and Highway 2 (6061 and 6101 Frontier Road).
(10-16-13: Planning Commission voted 8-0 to continue public hearing on April 16, 2014, at the applicant's request)
2.1
Street & Alley Vacation
No. 06007
Street & Alley Vacation No. 06007, to vacate Pine Ridge Lane west of the west line of Westshore Drive, at approximately Highway 2 and Ashbrook Drive.
(01-22-14: Planning Commission voted 8-0 to continue public hearing on February 19, 2014, at the applicant's request.)

Planning Department Staff Contacts

Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
David Cary, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Planner (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Christy Eichorn, Planner (402) 441-7603 ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov
Brandon Garrett, Planner (402) 441-6373 bgarrett@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Sara Hartzell, Planner (402) 441-6371 shartzell@lincoln.ne.gov
David Pesnichak, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 dpesnichak@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov