Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, February 19, 2014, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Sundays at 1:00 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will meet on Wednesday, February 19, 2014, immediately following their regular meeting, in Room 113 of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, for a briefing by Public Works & Utilities and Planning staff on "Street Planning and Street Building", including - Access Management Policy; Local Street Improvements Built Through The Subdivision Process; and Streets Built By The Petition Process.

**Please Note:** The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 19, 2014

[Commissioner Scheer absent]

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held February 5, 2014. ** APPROVED, as amended, 8-0 (Scheer absent) **

1. CONSENT AGENDA

(Public Hearing and Administrative Action)

PERMITS
1.1
Special Permit
No. 14001
Special Permit No. 14001, for authority to operate a non-residential health care facility, with waivers to the front and side yard landscaping and to reduce the front, side and rear yard setbacks for the existing building and parking lot, on property generally located at South 17th Street and South Street (2201 South 17th Street).
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Paul Barnes, 402-441-6372, pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report January 31, 2014, 8-0 (Scheer absent). Public Hearing before City Council tentatively scheduled for March 10, 2014, 3:00 p.m.
2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL
See Item 5.2 below
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA
None
4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION
MISCELLANEOUS
4.1
Street and Alley Vacation
No. 14001
Street and Alley Vacation No. 14001, to vacate the north-south alleys and connecting link thereto, from the south right-of-way line of "P" Street between 14th Street and Centennial Mall North south to the north right-of-way line of the east-west alley between North 14th Street and Centennial Mall North.
Staff recommendation: Conformance with the Comprehensive Plan
Staff Planner: Paul Barnes, 402-441-6372, pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Had public hearing. Planning Commission recommendation: A FINDING OF CONFORMANCE WITH THE COMPREHENSIVE PLAN, with conditions as set forth in the staff report dated January 31, 2014, 8-0 (Scheer absent). Public Hearing before City Council will be scheduled whwen the necessary conditions of approval have been satisfied.
5. CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION
PERMITS
5.1
Special Permit
No. 985A
Special Permit No. 985A, an amendment to the Kess Kove Community Unit Plan, to add one lot for one additional residential dwelling unit, with a waiver to grading and paving in South 60th Street, on property generally located at South 60th Street and Kess Drive. *** FINAL ACTION ***
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval, including Approval of the waiver of grading and paving south of Kess Drive, but Denial north of Kess Drive.
Staff Planner: Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Had continued public hearing. Planning Commission voted 8-0 to defer an additional two weeks, with CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ACTION scheduled for Wednesday, March 5, 2014, 1:00 p.m.
MISCELLANEOUS
5.2
Street and Alley Vacation
No. 06007
Street & Alley Vacation No. 06007, to vacate Pine Ridge Lane west of the west line of Westshore Drive, at approximately Highway 2 and Ashbrook Drive.
Staff recommendation: Conformance with the Comprehensive Plan
Staff Planner: Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission voted 8-0 to grant applicant's request for an additional four-week deferral, with CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ACTION scheduled for Wednesday, March 19, 2014, 1:00 p.m.
* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment
PENDING LIST:
1.
Change of Zone
No. 13015
Change of Zone No. 13015, from AGR Agricultural District to R-1 Residential District, on property generally located at Frontier Road and Highway 2 (6061 and 6101 Frontier Road).
(10-16-13: Planning Commission voted 8-0 to continue public hearing on April 16, 2014, at the applicant's request)

Planning Department Staff Contacts

Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
David Cary, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Planner (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Christy Eichorn, Planner (402) 441-7603 ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov
Brandon Garrett, Planner (402) 441-6373 bgarrett@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Sara Hartzell, Planner (402) 441-6371 shartzell@lincoln.ne.gov
David Pesnichak, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 dpesnichak@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov