Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, January 20, 2016, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Wednesdays at 7:00 p.m., Thursdays at 12:00 a.m. and Sundays at 12:30 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

The Lincoln/Lancaster County Planning Commission will meet on Wednesday, January 20, 2016, in Studio Room 113 of the County-City Building, 555 S. 10th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska, from 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. to discuss the LRTP/Comprehensive Plan.

**Please Note:**The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 20, 2016

View or download a searchable pdf version of the full Planning Commission Agenda here.


[Commissioner Weber absent]

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held January 6, 2016. 2016. **APPROVED: 7-0; Beecham abstained; (Weber absent)**

1. CONSENT AGENDA

(Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA
4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

USE PERMIT:

4.1
Use Permit
No. 64B
Use Permit No. 64B, to allow a special permitted use for a non-residential healthcare facility, on property generally located at South 16th Street and Old Cheney Road. **FINAL ACTION**
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Due to the lack of a majority vote on two motions for conditional approval, the Planning Commission voted 8-0 to defer action on this application to the February 3, 2016, meeting. (Weber absent).
5. CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

SPECIAL PERMIT:

5.1
Special Permit
No. 04016A
Special Permit No. 04016A, to construct a multi-story, climate-controlled, indoor self-storage building, and increase the allowable floor area to 236,200 square feet, on property generally located at Northwoods Drive and Colby Street. ** FINAL ACTION**
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Andrew Thierolf, 402-441-6372, athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the amended conditions as offered by the applicant and identified in the revised staff report dated November 5, 2015, 6-2, Beecham and Scheer dissenting; (Weber absent). Resolution No. PC-01480.
5.2
Special Permit
No. 1762E
Special Permit No. 1762E, the Vintage Heights Community Plan, increase the number of dwelling units from 964 to 990, and which allows 84 dwelling units to be served by sanitary sewer, which requires a sewage pump lift station to use the City's sanitary sewer system, and a request to waive Section 26.23.130 of the Subdivision Ordinance to allow for a block length of more than 1,320 feet, on property generally located at South 98th Street and Old Cheney Road.
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL; 8-0 (Weber absent). Public hearing before the City Council is pending finalization of the Pump Station and Force Main Agreement between the City and the developer.
* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment: 3:20 p.m.
PENDING LIST:
Special Permit
No. 15064
Special Permit No. 15064, to allow Avalon Event Paradise to be used for special events on property generally located at 12788 W. Roca Road.
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 402-441-5662, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission voted 7-0 (Beecham and Lust Absent) to place this item on pending until such time that the applicant is ready to move forward.

Planning Department Staff Contacts

David Cary, Director of Planning (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Planner (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, County Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Brandon Garrett, Planner (402) 441-6373 bgarrett@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Rachel Jones, Planner (402) 441-7603 rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Andrew Thierolf, Planner (402) 441-6371 athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Kellee Van Bruggen, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 kvanbruggen@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov