Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, March 2, 2016, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Wednesdays at 7:00 p.m., Thursdays at 12:00 a.m. and Sundays at 12:30 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

The Lincoln/Lancaster County Planning Commission will meet on Wednesday, March 2, 2016, in Studio Room 113 of the County-City Building, 555 S. 10th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska, from 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. to discuss the LRTP/Comprehensive Plan.

**Please Note:**The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 2, 2016

View or download a searchable pdf version of the full Planning Commission Agenda here.


[Commissioner Beecham absent]

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held February 17, 2016. **APPROVED: 7-0; Scheer abstained; (Beecham absent)**

1. CONSENT AGENDA

(Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


ANNEXATION AND RELATED CHANGE OF ZONE:

1.1a
Annexation
No. 16001
Annexation No. 16001, to annex approximately 28.87 acres, more or less, associated with the Grandview Estates Community Unit Plan, on generally located at South 70th Street and Rokeby Road.
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL; 8-0 (Beecham absent). Public hearing before the City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, March 21, 2016, 3:00 p.m.
1.1b
Change of Zone
No. 16001
Change of Zone No. 16001, from AG (Agricultural District) to R-3 (Residential District) for approximately 28.87 acres of land, more or less, associated with the Grandview Estates Community Unit Plan, on property generally located at South 70th Street and Rokeby Road.
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL; 8-0 (Beecham absent). Public hearing before the City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, March 21, 2016, 3:00 p.m.
2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA
4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

COMPREHENSIVE PLAN CONFORMANCE:

4.1
Comprehensive Plan Conformance
No. 16001
Comprehensive Plan Conformance No. 16001, to review as to conformance with the 2040 Lincoln-Lancaster County Comprehensive Plan, a proposed amendment to the Lincoln Center Redevelopment Plan to create the 9th & "O" Redevelopment Project, which includes the construction of a new, mixed-use building of approximately 12 stories, consisting of residential, hotel and parking uses, generally located on the north half of the block between 9th, 10th, O and N Streets including adjacent rights-of-way.
Staff recommendation: Conformance with the Comprehensive Plan
Staff Planner: Paul Barnes, 402-441-6372, pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: Conforms to the Comprehensive Plan: 8-0 (Beecham absent). Public hearing before the City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, March 28, 2016, 5:30 p.m.
* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment: 1:12 p.m.
PENDING LIST:
Special Permit
No. 15064
Special Permit No. 15064, to allow Avalon Event Paradise to be used for special events on property generally located at 12788 W. Roca Road.
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 402-441-5662, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission voted 7-0 (Beecham and Lust Absent) to place this item on pending until such time that the applicant is ready to move forward.

Planning Department Staff Contacts

David Cary, Director of Planning (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Planner (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, County Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Brandon Garrett, Planner (402) 441-6373 bgarrett@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Rachel Jones, Planner (402) 441-7603 rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Andrew Thierolf, Planner (402) 441-6371 athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Kellee Van Bruggen, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 kvanbruggen@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov