Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, July 20, 2016, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Wednesdays at 7:00 p.m., Thursdays at 12:00 a.m. and Sundays at 12:30 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

The Lincoln/Lancaster County Planning Commission will meet on Wednesday, July 20 2016, from 11:30 to 12:55, to discuss the LRTP/Comprehensive Plan Update, and immediately following the regular Planning Commission meeting, to discuss the Digital Planning Commission Agenda/Packets. Both the pre and post briefings will be held in Studio Room 113 of the County-City Building, 555 S. 10th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska.

**Please Note:**The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, JULY 20, 2016

View or download the full Planning Commission Agenda here.


[Commissioners Lust and Harris absent]

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held July 6, 2016. **APPROVED: 5-0; Corr abstained; (Lust and Harris absent)**

1. CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


    SPECIAL PERMITS:

1.1
Special Permit No. 11025A
More Information
Special Permit No. 11025A, to revise an area of the existing Community Unit Plan to accommodate 40 single-family attached lots, with waivers associated with right-of-way, storm water detention facilities, sanitary sewer, centerline grade, block length, lot depth, width-to-depth ratio, and setbacks on property generally located at North 40th and Turner Street.**FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Andrew Thierolf, 402-441-6371, athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL per revised staff report dated July 12, 2016: 6-0 (Lust and Corr absent). Resolution No. PC-01507.
1.2
Special Permit
No. 16029
More Information
Special Permit No. 16029, to allow a temporary rock crusher, on property generally located at 1675 Saltillo Road. **FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated July 12, 2016: 6-0 (Lust and Corr absent). Resolution No. PC-01508.
2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL
2.1
Special Permit
No. 16025
More Information
Special Permit No. 16025, to allow for the development of a new Community Unit Plan comprised of 7 single-family units, with waivers to setbacks, minimum area and width requirements, and the lot width-to-depth ratio, on property generally located at 828 D Street and 848 D Street. **FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
The applicant’s request for a 2-week deferral was granted, with PUBLIC HEARING AND ACTION scheduled for Wednesday, August 3, 2016.
2.2a
Comprehensive Plan Amendment
No. 16003
More Information
Comprehensive Plan Amendment No. 16003, to amend the 2040 Lincoln-Lancaster County Comprehensive Plan, by changing the 2040 Priority Growth Areas designation from Priority C to Priority B, Tier 1, on property generally located on the north side of Van Dorn Street, from South 87th to South 98th Streets.
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
The applicant’s request for a 2-week deferral was granted, with PUBLIC HEARING AND ACTION scheduled for Wednesday, August 3, 2016.
2.2b
Annexation
No. 16008
More Information
Annexation No. 16008, to annex approximately 5.12 acres, more or less, for future development, on property generally located on the north side of Van Dorn Street, west of South 91st Street.
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
The applicant’s request for a 2-week deferral was granted, with PUBLIC HEARING AND ACTION scheduled for Wednesday, August 3, 2016.

3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment: 1:07 P.M.
PENDING LIST:     None

Planning Department Staff Contacts

David Cary, Director of Planning (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, County Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Brandon Garrett, Planner (402) 441-6373 bgarrett@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Rachel Jones, Planner (402) 441-7603 rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Andrew Thierolf, Planner (402) 441-6371 athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Kellee Van Bruggen, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 kvanbruggen@lincoln.ne.gov
George Wesselhoft, Planner (402) 441-6366 gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov