Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, August 17, 2016, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Wednesdays at 7:00 p.m., Thursdays at 12:00 a.m. and Sundays at 12:30 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

**Please Note:**The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 17, 2016

View or download the full Planning Commission Agenda here.


[Commissioners Cornelius and Weber absent]

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held August 3, 2016. **APPROVED: 5-0; Harris abstained; (Cornelius and Weber absent)**

1. CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


    SPECIAL PERMITS:

1.1
Special Permit No. 16031
More Information
Special Permit No. 16031, to install an 18,000-gallon propane storage tank and pump, on property generally located at 5925 Cornhusker Highway. **FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Andrew Thierolf, 402-441-6371, athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
This application was removed from the Consent Agenda and had separate public hearing. Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the revised staff report dated August 17, 2017: 5-0; Lust abstained; (Cornelius and Weber absent). Resolution No. PC-01510.
1.2
Special Permit No. 16035
More Information
Special Permit No. 16035, to allow for a small batch concrete dispensing unit on existing trucking company site, on property generally located at 6120 Arbor Road.**FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: George Wesselhoft, 402-441-6366, gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated August 3, 2016: 6-0 (Cornelius and Weber absent). Resolution No. PC-01511.
1.3
Special Permit No. 16036
More Information
County Special Permit No. 16036, to permit housing for up to 40 people as a dwelling for religious orders, on property generally located at 2260 West Wittstruck Road.**FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 402-441-6366, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
This application was removed from the Consent Agenda and had separate public hearing. Planning Commission ‘final action’: APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated August 3, 2016: 6-0 (Cornelius and Weber absent). Resolution No. PC-01512.
2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL

3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)

See Items 1.1 and 1.3.

4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

    PRE-EXISTING SPECIAL PERMIT :

4.1
Pre-Existing Special Permit
No. 28D
More Information
Pre-existing Special Permit No. 28D, to expand the boundary of the Pre-Existing Special Permit for Union College and amend the signage plan to show additional signs on the southeast corner of South 48th Street and Prescott Avenue, with the expanded boundary to include the area legally described as Lots 1-16, Block 31, and Lots 5-12, Block 30, College View and adjacent vacated rights of way along with additional vacated right-of-way, all generally located at South 48th Street and Prescott Avenue.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL; 6-0 (Cornelius and Weber absent). Public hearing before the City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, September 12, 2016, 3:00 p.m.
* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment: 2:19 p.m.
PENDING LIST:     None

Planning Department Staff Contacts

David Cary, Director of Planning (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, County Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Brandon Garrett, Planner (402) 441-6373 bgarrett@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Rachel Jones, Planner (402) 441-7603 rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Andrew Thierolf, Planner (402) 441-6371 athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Kellee Van Bruggen, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 kvanbruggen@lincoln.ne.gov
George Wesselhoft, Planner (402) 441-6366 gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov