Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, December 14, 2016, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Wednesdays at 7:00 p.m., Thursdays at 12:00 a.m. and Sundays at 12:30 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

New Planning Commission Member Training will occur on Wednesday, December 14, 2016 from 11:00 a.m. to 12:55 p.m. in the Bill Luxford Studio, Room 113 of the County-City Building, 555 S. 10th St., Lincoln, Nebraska.

A reception for outgoing Planning Commission Members will occur on Wednesday, December 14, 2016 immediately following the regular Planning Commission hearing, in Studio Room 113 of the County-City Building, 555 S. 10th St., Lincoln, Nebraska.

**Please Note:**The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2016

View or download the full Planning Commission Agenda here.


[ALL MEMBERS PRESENT]


Resolution of Appreciation presented to Jeanelle Lust. **ADOPTED; 9-0; PC-01530**

Resolution of Appreciation presented to Michael Cornelius. **ADOPTED; 9-0; PC-01531**

Resolution of Appreciation presented to Lynn Sunderman. **ADOPTED; 9-0; PC-01532**


Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held November 30, 2016 ** APPROVED: 9-0**

1. CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


    TEXT AMENDMENT:

1.1
Text Amendment
No. 16019
More Information
Text Amendment No. 16019, amend Sections 27.06.180, 27.62.150, and 27.63.470 of the Lincoln Municipal Code to add "Assembly Facilities" as a conditional use in the H-4 District and allow "Assembly Facilities" in the Planned Service Commercial special permit, and repealing Sections 27.06.180, 27.62.150, and 27.63.470 of the Lincoln Municipal Code as hitherto existing.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Andrew Thierolf, 402-441-6371, athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL: 9-0. Public hearing before the City Council is tentatively scheduled for January 23, 2017, 3:00 p.m.
    SPECIAL PERMIT:

1.2
Special Permit No.
No. 07010A
More Information
Special Permit No. 07010A, to expand the existing store, including the alcohol sales area, on property generally located at 4335 North 70th Street. **FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Andrew Thierolf, 402-441-6371, athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
This application was removed from the Consent Agenda and had separate public hearing. Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated December 1, 2016: 9-0. Resolution No. PC-01533.
2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL

None.
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)

See Item 1.2
4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

    ANNEXATION:

4.1
Annexation
No. 16013
More Information
Annexation No. 16013, to annex approximately 36.94 acres, more or less, for a new fire/police station, including several surrounding lots, on property generally located at South 66th Street and Pine Lake Road.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL: 9-0. Public hearing before the City Council is tentatively scheduled for January 23, 2017, 3:00 p.m.
5. CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION


    PRELIMINARY PLAT:

5.1
Preliminary Plat
No. 16006
More Information
Preliminary Plat No. 16006, for a new preliminary plat to create an industrial park consisting of 9 lots, on property generally located at South 25th Street and Saltillo Road. **FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the revised staff report dated December 12, 2016: 8-0; (Scheer declared conflict of interest). Resolution No. PC-01534.
* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment: 2:10 P.M.
PENDING LIST:     Special Permit 16009, for construction of a carport, on property generally located at 1801 Kings Highway.

Planning Department Staff Contacts

David Cary, Director of Planning (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, County Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Brandon Garrett, Planner (402) 441-6373 bgarrett@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Rachel Jones, Planner (402) 441-7603 rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Andrew Thierolf, Planner (402) 441-6371 athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Kellee Van Bruggen, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 kvanbruggen@lincoln.ne.gov
George Wesselhoft, Planner (402) 441-6366 gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov