Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, August 2, 2017, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Wednesdays at 7:00 p.m., Thursdays at 12:00 a.m. and Sundays at 12:30 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

The Lincoln/Lancaster County Planning Commission will meet on Wednesday, August 2, 2017, immediately following the regular Planning Commission hearing, in Hearing Room 112, on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 S. 10th St., Lincoln, Nebraska, to discuss Alcohol Policy Review.

**Please Note:**The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 2, 2017

View or download the full Planning Commission Agenda here.


[All Commissioners present]


Election of Chair and Vice Chair for a 2-year term. **Dennis Scheer elected Chair, and Tracy Corr elected Vice-Chair for a 2-year term**

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held July 19, 2017. **APPROVED: 6-0; (Finnegan and Harris abstained)**


1. CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


    TEXT AMENDMENT AND RELATED SPECIAL PERMIT:

1.1a
Text Amendment
No. 17011
More Information
Text Amendment No. 17011, amending Title 27 of the Lincoln Municipal Code by amending Section 27.63.110, allowing the City Council to increase the number of freestanding signs per frontage for garden centers in the AG zoning district when two or more tenants operate within the boundary of the special permit and the tenants have separate entrances along the same frontage; and repealing corresponding section as hitherto existing.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL; 8-0. Public hearing before the City Council is tentatively scheduled for Monday, August 21, 2017, 5:30 p.m.
1.1b
Special Permit
No. 06022A
More Information
Special Permit No. 06022A, to amend Special Permit 06022 to allow two freestanding signs on South 14th Street with one sign located at each entrance, on property generally located at 10901 South 14th Street.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL; 8-0, as set forth in the staff report dated July 25, 2017. Public hearing before the City Council is tentatively scheduled for Monday, August 21, 2017, 5:30 p.m.

    CHANGE OF ZONE:

1.2
Change of Zone
No. 17017
More Information
Change of Zone No. 17017, for a new Historic Landmark District overlay zone, on property generally located at 1535 R Street.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Ed Zimmer, 402-441-6360, ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL; 8-0. Public hearing before the City Council is tentatively scheduled for Monday, August 21, 2017, 5:30 p.m.

2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL

None.
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)

None.
4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

    SPECIAL PERMIT:

4.1
Special Permit
No. 17026
More Information
Special Permit No. 17026, for an AG (Agricultural District) Community Unit Plan for 10 lots on approximately 153.24 acres, more or less, with a partial waiver of the detention requirements for a drainage basin, on property generally located at North 134th Street and Adams Street.**FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 402-441-5662, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 402-441-5662, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the revised staff report dated July 20, 2017: 8-0. Resolution No. PC-01566.

* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment: 5:17 P.M.
PENDING LIST:    

Planning Department Staff Contacts

David Cary, Director of Planning (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, County Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Collin Christopher, Planner (402) 441-6370 cchristopher@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Rachel Jones, Planner (402) 441-7603 rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Andrew Thierolf, Long Range Planner (402) 441-6371 athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Kellee Van Bruggen, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 kvanbruggen@lincoln.ne.gov
George Wesselhoft, Planner (402) 441-6366 gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov