Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, January 31, 2018, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Wednesdays at 7:00 p.m., Thursdays at 12:00 a.m. and Sundays at 12:30 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

The Lincoln/Lancaster County Planning Commission will meet on Wednesday, January 31, 2018, immediately following the regular Planning Commission hearing, in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 S. 10th St., Lincoln, Nebraska, to discuss (1) Downtown Master Plan Update and (2) Cornhusker RTSD Project Overview.

**Please Note:**The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 31, 2018

View or download the full Planning Commission Agenda.

Submit public record comments on specific agenda item.


[Commissioner Corr absent]

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held January 17, 2018. **APPROVED: 8-0; (Corr absent)**

1. CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


    TEXT AMENDMENT:

1.1
Text Amendment
No. 18001
More Information
Text Amendment No. 18001, amending the Zoning Ordinance Chapter 27.63 to include a correction to Section 27.63.630 1(a) to add the B-2 District for where indoor theaters may be allowed consisting of not more than 250 seats, and repealing Section 27.63.630 as hitherto existing.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: George Wesselhoft, 402-441-6366, gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL; 8-0 (Corr absent). Public hearing before the City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, February 26, 2018, 5:30 p.m.
    CHANGE OF ZONE AND RELATED USE PERMIT:

1.2a
Change of Zone
No. 17038
More Information
Change of Zone No. 17038, from R-2 (Residential) to R-T (Residential Transition District), on property generally located at 6630 Starr Street.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: George Wesselhoft, 402-441-6366, gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL; 8-0 (Corr absent). Public hearing before the City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, February 26, 2018, 5:30 p.m.
1.2b
Use Permit
No. 17010
More Information
Use Permit No. 17010, to allow for the conversion of a single family home into a salon business with waiver from Chapter 3.50 Design Standards for Screening and Landscaping for R-T District Screening, on property generally located at 6630 Starr Street. **FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditioanl Approval
Staff Planner: George Wesselhoft, 402-441-6366, gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated January 18, 2018: 8-0 (Corr absent). Resolution No. PC-01587.
    MISCELLANEOUS:

1.3a
Street and Alley Vacation
No. 17012
More Information
Street and Alley Vacation No. 17012, to vacate a portion of the South 54th Street right-of-way south of La Salle Street, generally located at South 54th and La Salle Streets.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conformance to the Comprehensive Plan
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: Conforms to the Comprehensive Plan: 8-0 (Corr absent). Public hearing before the City Council will be scheduled when the provisions of Chapter 14.20 of the Lincoln Municipal Code have been satisfied.
1.3b
Waiver
No. 17006
More Information
Waiver No. 17006, to waive the 90-foot minimum lot depth requirement per Section 26.23.140(a) of the Subdivision Ordinance, on property generally located at 5401 La Salle Street. **FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission ‘final action’: APPROVAL - 8-0 (Corr absent). Resolution No. PC-01588.
2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL

None.
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)

None.
4. CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

4.1
Change of Zone
No. 17032
More Information
Change of Zone No. 17032, to designate the Sidles House as a Historic Landmark, on property generally located at 2110 A Street.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Ed Zimmer, 402-441-6360, ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL; 8-0 (Corr absent). Public hearing before the City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, February 26, 2018, 5:30 p.m.
* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment: 1:14 P.M.
PENDING LIST:    

Planning Department Staff Contacts

David Cary, Director of Planning (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, County Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Collin Christopher, Planner (402) 441-6370 cchristopher@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Rachel Jones, Planner (402) 441-7603 rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Dessie Redmond, Planner (402) 441-6373 dredmond@lincoln.ne.gov
Andrew Thierolf, Long Range Planner (402) 441-6371 athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Kellee Van Bruggen, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 kvanbruggen@lincoln.ne.gov
George Wesselhoft, Planner (402) 441-6366 gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov