Safety always comes first.
If your driver's license is being returned to you with a citation,
the information on this page will explain how
the S.T.O.P. Program works and if you are eligible.
You Have Just Received a Citation
Though not a pleasant experience, the issuing of citations is a
necessary step in enforcement efforts to reduce traffic accidents,
deaths and injuries. Most drivers know they are driving
illegally when they are stopped. However, no one likes to
receive a ticket, and when it happens the recipient may harbor
resentment toward the officer who issued the citation. In these
cases, it is important to remember that the officers are only
doing their-job, and may be saving a life.
When you disobey traffic laws, you endanger yourself as well
as other motorists, passengers and pedestrians. It is the duty
of our officers to monitor motorists and issue citations to those
driving improperly, no matter how unpopular this action may
be. We hope this citation will encourage you to drive responsibly.
These are Your Options
- Appear In Court
- Pay By Waiver
- Participate in the S.T.O.P. Program
Persons may participate in the S.T.O.P. Program once every
three (3) years.
The Safety Training Option Program (S.T.O.P.)
What is S.T.O.P.?
Persons cited with certain minor traffic violations may complete
a Defensive Driving Course and waive paying the citation.
Take a Defensive Driving Course and Have:
- No Fine
- No Court Appearance
- No Points on Your Record
- Improved Driving Habits
Offenses Not Eligible...
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs
- Willful reckless or reckless driving
- Speed contest
- Flee to avoid arrest
- Refuse breath or blood test
- Driving while suspended
- Injury accidents
- School bus violations
- Texting while driving
- Speeding more than 19 mph over the speed limit
- No insurance
- No valid driver's license *
- No valid registration *
- Multiple offenses (certain multiple offenses are eligible, call for more information)
- CDL Operator's License holder
* Eligible if renewed
When to Enroll:
Register for the S.T.O.P. program within ten (10) working
days after receipt of the ticket to avoid payment of court costs.
If you register and pay after ten (10) working days, you will need to pay court costs to Lancaster County after you register.
How to Enroll:
You must register in person* at one of the following addresses:
Nebraska Safety Council, Inc.
3243 Cornhusker Highway, Suite 10
Lincoln, Nebraska 68504-1592
Lancaster County Community Corrections
633 S. 9th Street, Suite 101
Lincoln, Nebraska 68508
What to Bring With You:
- Citation (issued in Lancaster County)
- Valid Driver's License
- Social Security Number
- Money order for $85.00 or credit/debit card
Cash and checks are not accepted
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday thru Thursday
8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Friday
Classes are held Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday evening, Wednesday evening and selected Fridays.
*If you live outside of Lancaster County, call (402) 483-2511 or
(402) 441-3600 for enrollment information.