Main Menu Skip to Content
InterLinc Home Page
City of Lincoln
Floodplain Standards Background Information

Major Policies and Standards


In August of 2001, former Mayor Wesely appointed the Mayor's Floodplain Task Force, representing a range of stakeholders from the community, to formulate recommendations regarding the development of new floodplain standards that would address the natural functions of floodplains and reduction of future flooding hazards. In April of 2003, the Task Force finalized its recommendations. The standards, highlighted here, reflect the Task Force recommendations for New Growth Areas.

What are New Growth Areas?

New Growth Areas are those areas outside the Lincoln City limits, within Lincoln's zoning jurisdiction, and zoned for agriculture or rural residential on May 25, 2004 when the new standards became effective.

For more detail regarding these standards, please visit the Floodplain Standards page.

Download PDF Acrobat Document


Floodplain Standards Background Information