SE District 2 Jon Camp

photograph of Jon Camp

Jon Camp

2220 South 66th Street, Lincoln, NE, 68506

  • Elected - May, 1999 Term of Office - 1999-2003
  • Re-elected - May, 2003 Term of Office - 2003-2007
  • Re-elected - May, 2007 Term of Office - 2007-2011
  • Re-elected - May, 2011 Term of Office - 2011-2015
  • Re-elected - May, 2015 Term of Office - 2015-2019

Birthplace: Lincoln, NE

Educational Background

  • U.S. Air Force Academy (medical discharge)
  • University of Nebraska—Lincoln, B.S. Business Administration
  • University of Nebraska—Lincoln College of Law J.D. (law degree)


CH, Ltd.

President — responsibilities include the development, leasing financing arrangements, and management of The Apothecary, J.C. Ridnour Building and Armour Building located in Lincoln's Historic Haymarket District.

Haymarket Square

Managing Partner for development, leasing and management of 5 buildings.

NOTE: Jon Camp and his partners represent the largest development group in Historic Haymarket. Jon has developed or assisted in the development of 13 buildings in Historic Haymarket over the past 20 years.

CPI Qualified Plan Consultants, Inc. (actuarial consulting firm)

Vice President and Regional Consultant; Co-Owner — Designed, qualified and administered retirement programs throughout central United States.

National Bank of Commerce
Trust Officer in Employee Benefits Department

Past Community Experience

  • Nebraska State Bar Association; Lincoln Bar Association
  • Lincoln Haymarket Development Corporation "Historic Haymarket"
    • Founder, President, Secretary & Director
  • Haymarket Housing Development Corporation: founder and board member
  • Haymarket Revitalization Inc.: board member
  • First Plymouth Congregational Church
  • Lincoln Independent Business Association (LIBA)
  • Lincoln Chamber of Commerce
  • Executive Club of Lincoln (past president)
  • Taylor Meadows Neighborhood Association (past president)
  • Hillside Estates Homeowners Association (past president)
  • Governor's China/Hong Kong Trade Mission (1999)
  • City of Lincoln Economic Development Loan Committee (1996-1999)
  • Lincoln Housing Board (1992-1999)
  • Leadership Lincoln (Class V 1989-1990)
  • Internal Audit Committee
  • Mayor's Downtown Master Plan - Steering Committee
  • Mayor's Downtown Action Team Committee
  • Information Services Policy Committee (ISPC)
  • Trustee, Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation (1998-2006)
  • Nebraska Innovation Zone Commission (2009-2011)

Present Commitments

  • United Nations Day Chair for Nebraska (2000-2018)
  • Lincoln/Lancaster Commons (Vice Chair)
  • District Energy Corporation (President)
  • Lincoln Partnership for Economic Development Committee
  • Public Building Commission (Vice Chair)
  • Nebraska Innovation Zone Commission

Awards & Honors

  • 2017: Roger T. Larson Community Builder Award
  • 2016: Distinguished Alumni Inductee — Lincoln High School, Lincoln, Nebraska
  • 2010: Outstanding Elected Official — American Society for Public Administration — Nebraska Chapter
  • 2001: Lincoln Independent Business Association (LIBA) Business Champion of the Year
  • 1996: Downtown Lincoln Association Developer of Year Award
  • 1992: Community Improvement Recognition Award — The Apothecary
  • 1986: Community Improvement Recognition Award — Haymarket Square
  • 1984: Neighborhood Beautification Award, Haymarket Square
  • 1984: First recipient of the Larry Enersen Urban Design Award
  • 1983: Lincoln Center Association's Builder Award
  • 1980: Top of the Table (Top 1% of U.S. Life Insurance Sales)


Children: Jonathan and Abby


Historic renovation, visiting other historic districts, & traveling.