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Medicaid is a program administered by the
Nebraska Department of Health and Human
Services which assists in the payment of medical
expenses for eligible individuals.

What does Medicaid pay for?

o Dental services

o Durable medical equipment

« Eyeglasses

o Hearing aids

« Home health care

o Inpatient or outpatient hospital care
« Laboratory and X-ray services

o Medical transportation

o Medicare Part B and D premiums
o Nursing home care

« Personal assistant services

« Physical therapy

» Physicians

o Podiatrists
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Who is Eligible for Medicaid?

Medicaid is available to low-income persons
age 65 and over, blind, disabled or others who have
incomes and resources that meet the eligibility
guidelines.

Income guidelines: Income guidelines are
based on an individual or couple’s gross monthly
income. Monthly income is any money received
from Social Security, railroad retirement, pensions
and interest that is available for support and
maintenance.

Gross income is your total income before your
Medicare payment is deducted. If that figure is
below $990 for an individual or $1,335 for a couple,
you may be eligible.

If an individual or couple’s income exceeds
these amounts, they may still qualify. Medicaid
allows specific deductions that may bring your
income down to the eligibility level. Others whose
income is over the guidelines would be expected
to pay a portion of their medical expenses. This is
considered your “Share of Cost.”

This fact sheet is distributed to help you obtain useful information
regarding available community services and is not an inclusive list of
providers. The information is subject to change following publication.
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Resource guidelines: Resources include all
cash or other liquid assets, or any other real or
personal property owned by an individual.

+ A single individual cannot have more than $4,000
in liquid resources (bank accounts, CDs, bonds
and stocks). A married couple cannot have more
than $6,000 in liquid resources.

« Life insurance with a total face value of $1,500 per
individual is exempt.

o An irrevocable burial trust per individual with a
value not to exceed $4,762 is exempt - it cannot be
withdrawn.

o A burial plot, grave marker, caskets and urns are
exempt.

e One car is exempt.

+ The home in which you live is exempt.

There are special rules for married couples when
one spouse is in a nursing home or licensed assisted
living facility and needs Medicaid, but the other
spouse is not receiving care and is not applying
for Medicaid. These rules protect resources for the
community spouse. You may need to obtain further
information on this program, especially if your
resources exceed the Medicaid guidelines.

May | dispose of property by
conveying it to relatives or
selling it?

If you give away your home or other property
you own without receiving fair market value -
including bank accounts and CDs, you may be
ineligible for Medicaid, and possibly subject to
criminal penalties.
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How long must I live in Nebraska
in order to be eligible for
Medicaid?

There is no specific time period that you must
live in Nebraska before you apply for Medicaid.
However, at the time of the application, you must
live in Nebraska.

Where do | apply?

All counties in the Aging Partners service area
(Butler, Fillmore, Lancaster, Polk, Saline, Saunders,
Seward and York) will need to apply.

Medicaid Program - ACCESS Nebraska
PO Box 98933, Lincoln, NE 68508-5801
Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Phone: 855-632-7633 (statewide)

Phone: 402-473-7000 (Lincoln only)

Fax: 402-471-9209

Helpline: 800-254-4202

Apply online: www.accessnebraska.ne.gov
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