interlinc home page  
city of lincoln  
City of Lincoln
Mayor's Office

2006 Media Releases

February 27, 2006
For More Information Contact:
Diane Gonzolas, Citizen Information Center, 441-7831

Roger Larson honored for individual achievement

Mayor Coleen J. Seng presented Union Bank and Trust with the Mayor’s Community Conscience Award for 2006 at a breakfast ceremony this morning at the Embassy Suites Hotel. The award was established in 2000 to honor local businesses for their generosity, civic spirit and community leadership. Roger Larson was presented with an Individual Achievement Award.

Union Bank and Trust was founded in 1917 and is the third largest privately-owned bank in Nebraska with 34 offices in Nebraska. The bank’s board of directors has established an annual share of earnings for contributions in the areas of education, the arts and community betterment.

“Over the past five years, Union Bank and its holding company have contributed more than $5 million to a wide variety of community groups and organizations,” said Mayor Seng. “The bank’s employees also generously donate their time and talents to charitable and civic causes. Union Bank is giving back to the community in so many ways and improving the quality of life for all of us.”

Larson works in community relations for Wells Fargo, does commentary on KLIN Radio and had a 39-year career at KFOR Radio. Over the past 50 years, he has served on the boards of more than 40 Lincoln organizations, often as president. He currently serves on the City-County Planning Commission.

“Roger continues to be a community leader in so many ways,” said Mayor Seng. “He has a real commitment to making this an even better community for future generations. With his positive attitude, hard work and leadership ability, he has accomplished a great deal for Lincoln and is a wonderful example of a civic responsibility.”

The awards breakfast featured Bill Johnston, publisher of the Lincoln Journal Star, as the keynote speaker. The award winners were chosen by a committee of local business leaders. Previous winners were Pfizer in 2000, Ameritas in 2001, NEBCO in 2002, the Lincoln Journal Star in 2003, State Farm in 2004 and BryanLGH Medical Center and St. Elizabeth Regional Medical Center in 2005. Brad Korell received the first individual achievement award in 2004, and Mary Hepburn O’Shea received it in 2005.

The breakfast presentation was taped by 5 CITY-TV to air on the government access cable channel. A schedule is available on the City Web site at

Mayor's Office    Media Releases