InterLinc Home Page
City of Lincoln
City of Lincoln
Mayor's Office

2012 Media Releases

April 16, 2012
For More Information Contact:
Diane Gonzolas, Citizen Information Center, 402-441-7831

Mayor Presents 2011 Award of Excellence

Mayor Chris Beutler today presented the Mayor's Award of Excellence for 2011 to a team of employees who investigated the fire that destroyed the Lincoln Public Schools Administration Building in May 2011. Team members are Police Sergeant Larry Barksdale, Police Officer Matthew Franken and Fire Investigator Kenneth Hilger of Building and Safety's Fire Prevention Division. The team's investigation led to the arrest of a suspect who pled guilty to second-degree arson and is awaiting sentencing.

The award recognizes City employees who consistently provide exemplary service and work that demonstrates personal commitment to the City. It was presented at the beginning of today's City Council meeting. All monthly award nominees and winners are eligible to receive the annual award. The team members will share a $250 U.S. savings bond, and each will receive two days off with pay and a plaque. The Mayor also presented team members with the Mayor's Medallion.

The 2011 Honorable Mention Award went to bus operator Jose Regueira for his quick response to a fire on a StarTran HandiVan.

The categories in which employees can be nominated are customer service, productivity, safety, valor and loss prevention. Consideration also may be given to nominations that demonstrate self-initiated accomplishments or those completed outside of the nominee's job description.

All City employees are eligible for the Mayor's Award of Excellence except for elected and appointed officials. Individuals or teams can be nominated by supervisors, peers, subordinates and the general public. Nomination forms are available at (keyword: personnel) or from department heads, employee bulletin boards or the Personnel Department, which oversees the awards program.

All nominations are considered by the Mayor's Award of Excellence Committee, which includes a representative with each union and a non-union representative appointed by the Mayor. Monthly award winners receive a $50 U.S. savings bond, a day off with pay and a plaque.

Mayor's Office
Media Releases