InterLinc Home Page
City of Lincoln
City of Lincoln
Mayor's Office

2019 Media Releases

April 5, 2019
Media Contact:
Elaine Walsh, Health Department, 402-441-8093

Board of Health Presents Awards

The Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department (LLCHD) and the Lincoln-Lancaster County Board of Health presented their Board of Health Awards at the Board of Health Annual Breakfast and Awards Ceremony April 2.

Community Health Awards were presented to the following:

The Public Health Leadership Award was presented to Charlotte Burke, Former Division Manager of the Health Promotion and Outreach Division of LLCHD. The award goes to a trusted leader who has dedicated his/her career to disease prevention, innovation and advances in public health. Burke was instrumental in the passage of a City ordinance that banned smoking in all indoor places. She was also recognized for leadership roles with the American Heart Association and the American Cancer Society, efforts in working with collaborative partners on childhood obesity prevention, and leadership of the Health Department's first National Accreditation effort.

The John J. Hanigan Award was presented to John R. Massey, MD. Dr. Massey was recognized for his leadership in the medical field and for advocating and promoting public health in the community. Massey has over 20 years of diverse experience, especially in pain management and treatment of chronic pain. Over the past few years, he has dedicated numerous hours of his personal time to the fight against opioid abuse.

Two Food Sanitation Excellence Awards were presented. The first went to Sultan Attaie, owner of Sultan's Kite. A second award was presented to Edith Zumwalt, Director of Nutrition Services, Lincoln Public Schools. This award recognizes organizations for exceptional inspection scores, cleanliness of businesses/operations and excellent food handling practices.

The Carole Douglas Public Health Achievement Award was presented to Lisa Munger, an Office Manager who has worked for LLCHD for 20 years. She was recognized for her compassion, quality customer service, and her dedication and commitment to the Department and the community.

The Environmental Leadership Award was presented to Mayor Chris Beutler. Beutler was recognized for his leadership on environmental issues by establishing a broad environmental policy for Lincoln built on fiscally-sound policies and programs. His work included addressing water conservation, energy efficiency, renewable energy, waste reduction, recycling, sustainable building practices, environmentally sound purchasing policies and reduction of greenhouse gas emissions. He supported year-round access to hazardous waste disposal, enacting the Lincoln Environmental Action Plan with goals and strategies designed to improve environmental outcomes for the community. He was also recognized for his work establishing the Prairie Corridor on Haines Branch, a tallgrass prairie passage and trail that will build on Lincoln's nationally-recognized trail and greenway system. The corridor will support economic development and environmental education, and promote the enhancement and preservation of one of Nebraska's most valuable resources-the tallgrass prairie.

More information on LLCHD is available at

Mayor's Office
Media Releases