Personnel Policy Bulletin Number: _ 2009-2

Lancaster County Date: August, 2009
Reference: Title:
Supercedes Personnel Policy Bulletin 98-1 LOSS OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES POLICY

Nebraska Revised Statutes §8 60-6,196 - 60-6,211.05

Many positions in the classified service of Lancaster County require possession of a valid,
current Nebraska motor vehicle operator's license to engage in the operation of a County vehicle as a
regular part of the job. Each employee holding a position for which a valid, current motor vehicle
operator's license is required has the responsibility to report the loss of an operator's license and/or
driving privileges as soon as such loss occurs. Failure to promptly report the loss of driving
privileges will result in discipline up to and including termination. This applies any time driving
privileges are revoked, suspended or limited in any way by any court or the Nebraska Department
of Motor Vehicles or any other administrative agency of the State of Nebraska or any other state
or jurisdiction.

Lancaster County realizes that on occasion employees may temporarily lose their driving
privileges. It is the County's desire to assist such employees and to protect the County's investment
in trained and experienced personnel. In this regard, Lancaster County is prepared to make certain
accommodations when it is possible.

The following guidelines shall be effective on the date of execution by the Lancaster
County Board of Commissioners and the Personnel Director:

1. If an employee who is in a position which requires the possession of a valid motor
vehicle operator's license to satisfactorily perform the duties of the job loses his/her motor vehicle
operating license for a specific period of time; and if the employee promptly reports such loss to
his/her supervisor; then management will meet with that employee and review all the circumstances
surrounding such loss.

2. When an employee promptly reports the loss of his/her motor vehicle operating license
to his/her supervisor, or the department discovers the loss of driving privileges otherwise, the
department head shall notify the County’s Risk Manager. The Risk Manager shall subsequently
notify the County’s automobile insurance provider of the employee’s loss of driving privileges.

3. In accordance with Nebraska Revised Statutes 8§ 60-6,196 through 60-6,211.05, an
employee whose position does not require a commercial driver's license (CDL) and who is subject
to automatic license revocation for 90 days must apply for and receive an employment driving
permit after 30 days in order to drive while at work pending a final determination by the court. The
ability to drive at work with an employment driving permit is contingent upon being insurable under
the County’s automobile insurance policy. An employee whose position does require a commercial
drivers license (CDL) is not eligible for an employment driving permit (See Nebraska Revised
Statutes § 60-4,129) and must therefore obtain leave in accordance with Paragraph 4 below.

4. If the loss of operating privileges is for a period of time of 90 days or less including the
automatic license revocation period, the employee will be relieved of duty for the duration of the
loss unless the employee is eligible to receive a driving permit and the employee is insurable under
the County’s automobile insurance policy. The employee will be allowed to utilize accrued
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vacation time and personal holidays during the time the employee is relieved of duty. Additionally,
tf the loss is the result of a DUI conviction and the employee is attending as scheduled treatment
with a certified alcohol and drug counselor, licensed mental health professional or medical
practitioner while relieved of duty or the loss is related to a temporary medical disability, accrued
sick leave may be ufilized by the employee. The balance of the duration of the loss not covered by
vacation and/or sick leave may be covered by a county-approved leave withoul pay when requested
in writing by the employee.

5. Hf'the loss of operating privileges is for a period of time longer than 90 days including
the automatic license revocation period, the employee will be relieved from duty and will he subject
to separation from the County service upon satisfaction of all necessary administrative requirements,
except as provided in Paragraph (6). Likewise, if an employee is not insurable under the County’s
automobile insurance policy for a period of time longer than 90 days, the employee will be relieved
from duty and subject to separation from the County service upon satisfaction of all necessary
administrative requirements, except as provided by Paragraph (6).

6. Tf the loss of operating privileges is for longer than 90 days, or if the employee is not
insurable under the County’s automobile insurance policy for a period of time longer than 90 days,
and there exist vacant positions within the County service, the employee will be allowed to make
application for those positions for which he/she possesses alf the current necessary gualifications
whether the positions applied for are in higher or lower classifications or would constitute a lateral
transfer. Additionally, 1f the loss of license is for 90 days or less and the employee does not wish to
utilize the provisions of Paragraph (4) herein, the employee may apply to vacant positions within the
County service for which he/she possesses all the current necessary qualifications whether the
positions applied for are in higher or lower classifications or would constitute a lateral transfer. In
the event the employee has demoted, the employee will not be able to move back fo their previous
position of employment until there is an opening in the higher classification, the employee’s driving
privileges have been restored, the employee is insurable under the County’s automobile insurance
policy, and the employee has applied for the position in the higher classification. Applications for
vacant positions made in accordance with this paragraph will be reviewed on an equal basis with all
other applications and no special consideration will be given to any current employee who has
sufferedg license suspension or revocation.
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Bernie Heier, Chair Date
County Board of Commissioners

Mok & fite_ ¥.19.27
Mafk A. Koller i Date
Personnel Director
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DRIVER'S LICENSE
NOTIFICATION OF TRAFFIC VIOLATION

NAME: JOB TITLE:

DEPARTMENT: DIVISION:

As a holder of a Nebraska Driver's License | am responsible as follows:

I must notify my immediate supervisor the next working day following a motor vehicle
conviction which results in loss or suspension of my driver's license.

Pursuant to that responsibility, | am hereby notifying the City of Lincoln of the following:

LICENSE NUMBER: DATE ISSUED:

EXPIRATION DATE: CLASS:

TYPE OF TRAFFIC VIOLATION:

TYPE OF VEHICLE OPERATED (Check one): Personal Q City O
Other (please describe):

DATE TICKETED: CITATION NO.:

DATE OF CONVICTION:
DID VIOLATION RESULT IN LOSS OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES: YES Q NO Q
IF YES, EXPLAIN:

Further, I understand that this document is an official City record, and that falsification of this
document, or failure to report loss of driving privileges and/or license in the future is grounds for my
being disciplined.

Dated this day of , 20

EMPLOYEE SIGNATURE

Supervisor Signature: Date Received:
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